TDSB Recognizes Bullying Prevention and Awareness Week
Providing safe, inclusive and positive spaces accepting of all    More>>
Follow the TDSB:

The English Curriculum

The Richview English department enjoys a constantly changing program which reflects the richness of the new curriculum. New initiatives implemented yearly, focus on encouraging students to improve their literacy skills and the design of challenging, enriching and innovative activities that address the diverse interest and needs of students. Students enjoy the graphic novel, more relevant and enriching media studies, as well as student-centered differentiated instruction and evaluation in their English classes. The department remains passionately committed to student development and a learning experience which emphasizes the relevance of class material to the world beyond the classroom.

English Course Outlines

Media Course Outlines

LITERACY


All our grade 10 students have also been preparing for the EQAO test with a practice book which each students received at the beginning of the year. When time permits, students practice with their English teachers, but students are encouraged to practice with the workbook on their own or to visit www.eqao.com for additional sample questions. The week before the EQAO test, students will also receive additional practice of all questions in all their classes in a “rush week” style application.

In preparation for the OSSLT test in March, the literacy department has implemented a Lunch and Learn program.  In the weeks leading up to the test, every Wednesdsay at lunch students (who have been identified as at-risk by their teachers, or who have been unsuccessful at a first OSSLT attempt) gather with a group of teacher volunteers to practice OSSLT style questions. Each week the group tackles one of the reading and writing skills from the test in the hopes that these focused tutorials will help our students be successful.
Search

Department Members
Curriculum Leader
Lily Pereira
lily.pereira@tdsb.on.ca
416-394-7980 x20090

Adrienne Brandon

adrienne.brandon@tdsb.on.ca

Margaret Di Marco
margaret.dimarco@tdsb.on.ca 

Marcel Dragonieri

marcel.dragonieri@tdsb.on.ca


Scott Johnstone
scott.johnstone@tdsb.on.ca

Kelly Ladd
kelly.ladd@tdsb.on.ca

Peter McAlpine- On leave
peter.mcalpine@tdsb.on.ca

Jill Morris

jill.morris@tdsb.on.ca
 

John Musialik

john.musialik@tdsb.on.ca



Christine Zdebiak- On Leave
christine.zdebiak@tdsb.on.ca

© Toronto District School Board. Terms & Conditions