Student Transportation Update
Further to the communication sent last week, the TDSB and Toronto    More>>
Follow the TDSB:

William Hutt

William Hutt, celebrating over 50 years in theatre, is one of Canada’s most honoured and acclaimed actors. His past Stratford roles have included Harpagon in The Miser, King Lear, Benjamin Hubbard in The Little Foxes, Falstaff in The Merry Wives of Windsor, James Tyrone in Long Day’s Journey Into Night, Harry in The Stillborn Lover (also for CBC Radio), Argan in The Imaginary Invalid, Teazle in The School for Scandal, Thomas More in A Man for All Seasons, Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest, Prospero in The Tempest (also for CBC Radio) and the title roles in Volpone, Tartuffe and Richard II. Directing credits include Much Ado About Nothing, As You Like It, Saint Joan, and Waiting for Godot.

A recipient of the 1995 Artistic Director’s Award, William Hutt’s extensive career has included appearances on Broadway, in the West End, and in theatres across Great Britain, Europe, Australia, and the United States. He was for four seasons Artistic Director of the Grand Theatre, London. In film and television: James Tyrone in Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Rhombus Media), for which he won the Genie Award; Sir John A. MacDonald in The National Dream (CBC), for which he won both Genie and ACTRA Awards; and Bernard Shaw in The First Night of Pygmalion (CBC), for which he received the Prix Anik Award. Other film and television appearances include Macbeth, The Wars, Uncle Vanya, Tennessee Williams’ South, and more recently a guest appearance in Emily of New Moon (CBC).

William Hutt was invested with the Companion of the Order of Canada in 1969 and the Order of Ontario, 1992. Also in 1992, he became the first recipient of the Governor General’s Lifetime Achievement Award, English Stage. In 1998 William received the Shakespeare Globe’s Sam Wanamaker Award for most outstanding contribution to the world of Elizabethan and Jacobean theatre. William Hutt also holds honorary doctorates from six major Canadian universities.
Location of School

© Toronto District School Board. Terms & Conditions