York Memorial Collegiate School Council Meeting Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Minutes

Members: Dawn Gent, Anissa Tata, Tanisha Campbell, Hugh McCague, Bishakha Chowdhury, Donna Drummond, John Masciotra, Sarah Robinson, Stephanie Slobodian, Charmaine Lillie, Jiulia DelDagan, Apurba Mukherje, Carlton Rance

Agenda Item	Decision/Action Taken	Person(s) Responsible
Welcome and introductions	Call to order: 6:30 PM Welcome and introductions	Dawn Gent/Bishakha Chowdhury
Review and approval of previous minutes	Previous meeting minutes had been distributed by e-mail and were approved.	Bishakha Chowdhury
Student Council Update	 No one from Student Council was available so no update at this meeting 	
Principal Update	 The decision to transfer all YMCI students to Scarlett Heights was made in June. Construction started in July by a private contractor for inside the school and TDSB contractor for the roof. The construction last 6 weeks. The solar panels need to be returned and changing of rads for heating and air flow. TTC tickets were distributed to students who live 4.8 kms away. Optional attendance students did not qualify. However, there is an appeal process which will be sign off by the superintendent. Scarlett Heights is considered to be a temporary holding site for YMCI students and staff. MPs and councillors are enthusiastic about rebuilding. Update on YMCI: Workers are still trying to salvage what they can from the fire. Letters will be sent home to parents from TDSB about items left in the school. Commencement is October 18th at York University 	Donna Drummond
Chairs Update	 School Statement of Needs was discussed and no issues. Voting for new council members and a continuation of having a chair and a co-chair. Walk-in was scheduled for October 10 an hour before school start to oppose cuts to education. Ward 6 meeting is held October 16th at 7pm and this is open to the public. There will be discussion about YMCI future. Workshops: November 12, 2019 and November 16 (PIAC at Earl Haig). Future workshops to follow. We would like to thank Bishakha Chowdhury for being the chair for all these years. New council members are: Dawn Gent and Anissa Tata (Chair and Co-Chair) Tanisha Campbell (Secretary), Apurba Mukherjee (Treasurer), Charmaine Lillie and Carlton Rance 	Bishakha Chowdhury

	(Community Representative).	
Adjournment:	8:30 PM	Bishakha
		Chowdhury