Author Visit! Nov. 12

Mike Wade, author of the series "And Then It Happened" will be visiting with the students in grades 3-6 on Wednesday , November 27th.

On this day, signed copies of his books will be available for $5.00.  If you wish to purchase one of his books, please send your child with a cheque made out to Books for Boys Inc.

He will begin at 1:00 p.m.  and will be running two sessions of approximately 45 minutes each.

mike wade author visit

Brookmill's Haunted House

gr 6 group haunted house

Orange Shirt Day

 

orange shirt day

Monday, September 30 is Orange Shirt Day! Please wear an orange shirt and join us in honouring the Indigenous children that were taken from their families and sent to residential schools.

 

Brookmills Events 2019/2020:

September

  • First Day of School:  Tuesday September 3
  • Curriculum Night:  Thursday September 19th, 5:00- 6:30 pm
      • Samosas and Spring Rolls to enjoy
  • Terry  Fox Walk:  Friday October 27
  • Character Assembly:  Friday October 27

October

  • Vision and Hearing Clinic:  Tuesday October 1
  • Photo Day:  Friday October 4
  • P.A. Day:  Friday October 11
  • Thanksgiving Monday:  Monday October 14
  • Public Health Primary Students Lice Check:  Friday October 18
  • Elections Day:  Monday October 21
  • Take Me Outside Day:  Wednesday October 23
  • Pizza Treat Day:  Wednesday October 23; thank you for registering for School Online Cash
  • Character Assembly:  Friday October 25
  • Public Health Junior Students Lice Check:  Monday October 28
  • Halloween:  Thursday October 31

November

  • Interview Requests go home:  Monday November 4
  • Photo Retake Day:  Friday November 8:  12:45 pm - 1:45 pm
  • Reports go home:  Monday November 11
  • Interviews taking place:  week of November 11
  • PA Day:  Friday November 15
  • Character Assembly:  Friday November 29

Our Mission Statement

We believe that literacy and numeracy are essential to academic success and we plan our programs to concentrate on these areas.

We are committed to the philosophy of "Students First".

We believe that students must be healthy physically and emotionally in order to maximize their learning.

Extra Curricular Activities

This year we have revamped our extracurricular format.  We will focus on servicing a greater number of children and a wider variety of grades.  Therefore, some of the sports that have historically been “interschool” (competitions at outside locations); will now function in a House League format.  It is our goal to have more activities that will be available for a significantly larger number of students.

At the beginning of the year, you received a Physical Education and Intramural information /Permission Form.  This form acknowledges that you give your child permission to participate in extracurricular and intramural (at school) activities.

Our House League system will award points for participation and attendance in a wide variety of activities.  In this way, all children will be able to contribute equally to the House League point tally.

Please note that we will specify our start date shortly.

If you have already signed this form, you have given permission for your child to participate. Thank you