Languages / ELL (English Language Learners)

Languages & English Language Learners (ELLs)


Marina Moro

Marina.Moro@tdsb.on.ca

ext. 20060

Assistant Curriculum Leader

Qudsia Ahmad

Qudsia.Ahmad@tdsb.on.ca

Literacy Enrichment Academic Program (LEAP)

Sharon Backman

Sharon.Backman@tdsb.on.ca

English as a Second Language

Faine Briscoe

Faine.Briscoe@tdsb.on.ca

English as a Second Language

Andre Donais

Andre.Donais@tdsb.on.ca

French

Andrew Toong

Andrew.Toong@tdsb.on.ca

French

 

In today’s world, speaking one language is not enough. Knowing another language enriches the mind and opens up new horizons, both personal and professional, increasing job opportunities, at home or abroad.

 

English Language Learners

As I sit here I wonder if you, my teacher, are able to tell when I am sinking in spirit and ready to quit this incredible task. I walked a thousand miles, dear teacher, before I met you.

(ESL/ELD student - Many Roots, Many Voices, p. 4)

 

At Westview we welcome all newcomer students to our caring and nurturing community. We embrace the cultural contributions of all our students. Our teachers work together to ensure that our students develop the necessary academic skills in speaking, listening, reading, writing, citizenship and media literacy to be successful students and citizens in Canada.

We offer a full selection of ESL classes from Level 1 (ESL A) to Level 5 (ESL E). All levels are designed to help English language learners grasp the language skills for social and academic purposes. Each ESL/ELD course is a credit course. Three of these credits count toward the four English credits needed to obtain the OSSD.